top of page

Kintsugi

Growing up, Mom told me a story using a vase as an example for a relationship. She went on to say that sometimes, relationships are broken and can be mended but eventually they get irreparably damaged and I should be mindful of my actions. Over the years I have seen how this is true, chiefly in the relationship with myself. I have always said that I am my biggest enemy; I am my worst detractor; I am my worst friend. I often most set myself up for failure because some part of me is afraid of success. As I have mentioned before I tend to live my life in fear of one thing or another, usually without me knowing. The last few weeks have been awful. I felt like my reality was slipping. But those of you who know me in real life, I am stubborn as hell and I don't go down easily. I may not have the same wild chutzpah I once had as a teenager (holy hell if I was a ball of anger back then) but it is still there. Sometimes I joke that I must be a masochist because I keep facing my fears because I refuse to let them define me. Yes. I am the person who wants to go sky diving because I am deathly afraid of heights (sorry Bobby!). I want to go on a hot air balloon ride despite the fact that my palms are sweaty and I feel like throwing up at the thought. So... why am I letting my anxiety get the best of me? Have I become irreparably damaged? Have I broken myself to the point that there is nothing to salvage? Crazy talk. A few years ago, I had heard about Kintsugi when I was reading about wabi-sabi (not to be confused with wasabi, the horseradish paste). And as usual, I tucked that information away and continued down the rabbit hole of encyclopedias and internet articles because... that's what happens when boredom strikes. I remember being intrigued at the notion. Wabi-sabi is the Japanese philosophy of embracing the flawed or imperfect. It resonated with me because I *do* like the flawed or imperfect. I find perfection to be boring and the little flaws of every day life are interesting. I feel this way about every day objects, nature and people. In fact, it is because of this notion that I find it easier to get to know people, make friends... eventually fall in love. Honestly, this is why I love photography so much; I like to capture the flaws because I find them beautiful. Some people may abhor wrinkles and grey hair. I find them sexy as fuck. Kintsugi takes this philosophy into practical application. It is the art of repairing lacquerwear with gold in such a way that it makes a broken piece whole again. In emphasizes the cracks and holes in such a way that the broken piece is not only beautiful, but functional. The concept came to mind on Sunday night, when I found myself curled up in bed trying desperately not to cry. My best friend was sleeping on the other room and I did not want to wake her although my anxiety was starting to get the best of me. I knew it would only be a matter of hours until I could see my husband again and I'd feel better but since we had failed to come up with a time for me to look forward to, I was floundering. I was cracking and starting to fall apart. A part of me seriously thought I was just bat shit insane and was the protagonist of an M. Night Shyamalan movie where it is discovered that I am a widower for several years, my husband having died in a terrible camping accident. My best friend is really my shrink and we're doing some form of therapy to get me past my trauma. But before I could fall victim to the paranoia, I began to fill the cracks with the facts I already knew. I am cracked and broken... but mother was wrong. As long as the vase is not pulverized, it can be put back together, the holes filled and polished.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page